In my attempts to remove even more friction from writing tests I have a new VS macro for running the tests.

I use ReSharper’s unit test runner as it significantly reduces context switch from writing the code to running it. Besides, it looks so damn sexy!! It has a Unit Test Explorer which shows you all the tests in the solution, and then a Unit Test Session where you can select groups of tests to run (and it’s tabbed so you can have different groups of tests). I use the Unit Test Session to isolate just the tests relevant to the code I’m working on.

With the previously posted BDD macro and R# templates, I get smooth flowing writing of tests but then I find myself moving to the mouse to run the tests. What I wanted to do was use shortcuts.

There is an existing shortcut in R# for showing the Unit Test Session (Ctrl+Alt+R). You can then set another shortcut for the command ReSharper_UnitTestSession_RunAll. I set Ctrl+T as the shortcut to this command.

With these 2 in place, it is reasonably quick to write test, hit Ctrl+Alt+R, Ctrl+T and see the selected tests run (including the newly written test). This is reasonably smooth.

But what I want to do is get it down to one shortcut and ideally switch focus back to the text editor so I can carry on writing my tests. Well, a quick macro bound to the shortcut Ctrl+T and I am partway there. The macro I have runs both previous commands for me but it doesn’t yet put the focus back to the text editor. I will hopefully crack this soon but I just wanted to post all this first.

Here’s the macro. Remember to bind it to your shortcut of choice.

Imports System
Imports EnvDTE
Imports EnvDTE80
Imports System.Diagnostics

Public Module ChainedCommands

    Public Sub RunSelectedUnitTestSession()
        Dim selection As TextSelection = CType(DTE.ActiveDocument.Selection(), EnvDTE.TextSelection)
        Dim textPoint As TextPoint = CType(selection.ActivePoint, TextPoint)
        Dim line As Integer = textPoint.Line
        Dim offset As Integer = textPoint.LineCharOffset
        Dim index As Integer

        DTE.ExecuteCommand("ReSharper.ReSharper_ShowUnitTestSessions")
        DTE.ExecuteCommand("ReSharper_UnitTestSession_RunAll")

        selection.MoveToLineAndOffset(line, offset)
    End Sub

End Module
